Anterior Teeth

The twelve teeth that are located at the front of the mouth are called the anterior teeth. These teeth are often referred to as the “front teeth.” These teeth are made up of the cuspid, mandibular, and maxillary incisors, in addition to the lateral incisors. The anterior teeth are responsible for the principal function of cutting and tearing food into digestible bits.

What is the Anterior Side of Teeth?

The teeth that are located at the very front of the mouth are known as the anterior teeth. Your front teeth are the ones that show when you talk or smile since they are at the front of your mouth.

How many Anterior Teeth are in a Permanent Dentition?

The front permanent dentition is comprised of twelve permanent teeth in total. The canines (cuspids), lateral incisors, maxillary and mandibular central incisors, and mandibular and maxillary central incisors make up the anterior teeth.


Related Terms: